Big Win for "Her," Matthew McConaughey, and Scarlett Johansson  

The Detroit Film Critics Society announced the winners of their 2013 awards and "Her" won the top prize of the evening, the Best Picture Award. But the director of the film, Spike Jonze, lost to Alfonso Cuaron who gave us "Gravity."

Matthew McConaughey won Best Actor for "Dallas Buyers Club," while Brie Larson took home the Best Actress award for "Short Term 12." McConaughey's co-star, Jared Leto, won Best Supporting Actor while Scarlett Johansson nabbed another Best Supporting Actress for her voice work in "Her."

Here's the complete list of nominees and winners (highlighted):

Best Picture
"Before Midnight"
"Short Term 12"
"12 Years a Slave"

Best Director
Alfonso Cuarón, "Gravity"

Paul Greengrass, "Captain Phillips"
Spike Jonze, "Her"
David O. Russell, "American Hustle"
Martin Scorsese, "The Wolf of Wall Street"

Best Actor
Leonardo DiCaprio, "The Wolf of Wall Street"
Chiwetel Ejiofor, "12 Years a Slave"
Tom Hanks, "Captain Phillips"
Matthew McConaughey, "Dallas Buyers Club"
Robert Redford, "All is Lost

Best Actress
Amy Adams, "American Hustle"
Julie Delpy, "Before Midnight"
Adčle Exarchopoulos, "Blue is the Warmest Color"
Brie Larson, "Short Term 12"
Meryl Streep, "August: Osage County"

Best Supporting Actor
Barkhad Abdi, "Captain Phillips"
James Franco, "Spring Breakers"
Jared Leto, "Dallas Buyers Club"
Matthew McConaughey, "Mud"
Stanley Tucci, "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire"

Best Supporting Actress
Scarlett Johansson, "Her"

Jennifer Lawrence, "American Hustle"
Lupita Nyong'o, "12 Years a Slave"
Julia Roberts, "August: Osage County"
June Squibb, "Nebraska"

Best Screenplay

"American Hustle"
"Before Midnight"
"Short Term 12"
"The Wolf of Wall Street"

Best Documentary
"The Act of Killing"
"The Square"
"Stories We Tell"
"The Unknown Known"

Best Ensemble
"American Hustle"

"August: Osage County"
"Blue Jasmine"
"12 Years a Slave"
"The Wolf of Wall Street"

Best Breakthrough
Lake Bell, "In a World…" (Director, Screenplay, Actress)
Ryan Coogler, "Fruitvale Station" (Director, Screenplay)
Destin Cretton, "Short Term 12" (Director, Screenplay)
Michael B. Jordan, "Fruitvale Station" (Actor)
Brie Larson, "Short Term 12" (Actress)

[ add comment ] ( 9 views )   |  permalink  |   ( 3 / 741 )

<<First <Back | 161 | 162 | 163 | 164 | 165 | 166 | 167 | 168 | 169 | 170 | Next> Last>>